

All-Party Parliamentary Group on

Myalgic Encephalomyelitis (ME)

Annual General Meeting

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 10 May 2023 at 2pm in Room W2, The Palace of Westminster

appgme.co.uk 1

Parliamentarians present:

Carol Monaghan (Chair)
Stephen Metcalfe
Debbie Abrahams
Fleur Anderson
Julian Lewis
Ben Bradshaw
Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle
Baroness Meacher

Apologies:

Baroness Finlay of Llandaff Sharon Hodgson Jason McCartney Marion Fellows Ed Davey Alex Chalk Simon Jupp

In attendance:

Sonya Chowdhury (APPG Secretariat and Chief Executive of Action for M.E.) Professor David Strain, University of Exeter Medical School; Action for M.E. Medical Adviser;

Lejla Softic (Account Executive, Connect Public Affairs)
Tony Britton (PR and Fundraising Manager at the M.E. Association)

appgme.co.uk 2

1. Welcome and Election of Officers

Carol Monaghan MP welcomed parliamentarians and guests to the APPG's Annual General Meeting in Westminster.

1.1 Election of Chair

All parliamentarians present re-elected Carol Monaghan MP as Chair.

1.2 Election of Vice-Chairs and Officers

All parliamentarians present re-elected Baroness Finlay of Llandaff, Stephen Metcalfe MP, Debbie Abrahams MP, and Sharon Hodgson MP as Vice-Chairs.

1.3 Election of Officers

All parliamentarians present re-elected Fleur Anderson MP and Jason McCartney MP as Officers, as well as electing Marion Fellows MP as a new Officer.

2. Discussion of the APPG's Income and Expenditure

Carol Monaghan MP informed the group that it received £2,000 in kind from outside Parliament in that reporting year via the joint Secretariat provided by Action for M.E. and the ME Association. This amount does not require that the group approve an income and expenditure statement as it falls below the £12,500 threshold.

A normal APPG meeting followed the AGM and the minutes for this will be published once approved at the next APPG meeting which is scheduled to take place on Wednesday, 14 June at 4pm.

appgme.co.uk 3