• Help us to support others – donate now and change a life

    Donate now


  • A
  • A
  • A
Text size

M.E. manifesto: has your candidate pledged their support?

April 26, 2016

We have been sending our M.E. matters now manifestos for Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland to all candidates standing in the upcoming elections. Has yours pledged their support?

Each section below features a link to the relevant manifesto, which you can print out and give to candidates and/or canvassers when they’re in your neighbourhood. If you would like to be sent paper copies, please get in touch.

M.E. in Scotland

Glasgow Disability Alliance will hold a hustings event on Friday 29 April 10am to 4.30pm at the Radisson Hotel, Glasgow. The event will feature speakers from the main parties and there will be a chance to ask questions.

If you are able to attend, please download a copy of the M.E. matters now manifesto for Scotland (produced in collaboration with other M.E. charities, support groups and individuals) to share with candidates. Or you can encourage your local candidate to support the manifesto by sending them our template letter.

The following Scotland candidates have already pledged their support:

  • Sarah Boyack, Scottish Labour for Edinburgh Central
  • Graeme Brooks, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party for Greenock and Inverclyde
  • Robert Brown, Scottish Liberal Democrats for Rutherglen South Ward
  • Carolyn Caddick, Scottish Liberal Democrats for Inverness and Nairn
  • Craig Duncan, Scottish Liberal Democrats for Dundee City East
  • Charles Dundas, for Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Alison Evison, Scottish Labour for Aberdeen South and North Kincardine
  • Mary Fee, Scottish Labour for Renfrewshire North and West
  • Neil Findlay, Scottish Labour for Almond Valley
  • Liz Anne Handibode, Scottish Labour for East Kilbride Central Scotland
  • Ann Henderson, Scottish Labour for Lothian
  • Peter Henderson, Scottish National Party for South Scotland
  • Cara Hilton, Scottish Labour for Dunfermline
  • Rosemary Hunter, Scottish National Party for Mid Scotland and Fife
  • John Lamont , Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party for Ettrick, Roxburgh and Berwickshire
  • Ben Macpherson, Scottish National Party for Edinburgh Northern and Leith
  • Paul Masterton, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party for Paisley
  • Siobhan McCready, Scottish Labour for Greenock and Inverclyde
  • Siobhan McMahon, Scottish Labour for Central Scotland
  • Elaine Murray, Scottish Labour for Dumfriesshire
  • Willie Robertson, Scottish Liberal Democrats for Perthshire South and Kinross-shire
  • Shona Robison, Scottish National Party for Dundee City East
  • Stephen Sankey, Green Party for Highlands and Islands
  • Elaine Smith, Scottish Labour for Coatbridge and Chryston
  • Dr Clive Sneddon, Scottish Liberal Democrats for Angus South
  • James Speirs, Scottish Liberal Democrats for Glasgow Anniesland
  • Stewart Stevenson, Scottish National Party for Banffshire & Buchan Coast -
  • Andy Wightman, Green Party for Lothian

M.E. in Wales

Please also encourage your local candidate to support the M.E. matters now manifesto for Wales by sending them our template letter.The following candidates have already pledged their support:

  • Altaf Hussain , Conservative for South Wales West
  • Bethan Jenkins, Plaid Cymru for Aberavon
  • Elin Walker-Jones, Plaid Cymru for Cardiff North
  • Dic Jones, Plaid Cymru for Swansea East
  • Jaqueline Hurst, Plaid Cymru for Alyn and Deeside
  • Jane Hutt, Labour for Vale of Glamorgan
  • Leighton Andrewsm Labour for Rhondda
  • Mair Rowlands, Plaid Cymru for Vale of Clwyd
  • Mark Isherwood, Conservative for North Wales
  • Peter Black, Liberal Democrats for South Wales West
  • John Griffiths, Labour for Newport East
  • Sian Gwenllian, Plaid Cymru for Arfon
    Mohammad Asghar, Conservative for South Wales East

M.E. in Northern Ireland

Please also encourage your local candidate to support the M.E. matters now manifesto for Northern Ireland by sending them our template letter. The following candidates have pledged their support:

  • Robin Newton, Democratic Unionist Party for Belfast East
  • Claire Sugden, Independent for East Londonderry
  • Chris McGimpsey, Ulster Unionist Party for Belfast East
  • Jack Irwin, Conservatives for Lagan Valley
  • Lesley Carrol, Ulster Unionist Party for Belfast North
  • Rodney McCune, Ulster Unionist Party for Belfast South
  • Dr Stephen Farry, Alliance Party for North Down
  • Steven Agnew, Green Party for North Down